Audio: Can Public Policy Cope with Behavioural Sciences?

I recorded the talk I gave at the Political Innovation event at the end of September. But the sound quality isn’t great, so I didn’t do anything with it. Then, a couple of days ago, I listened to this newly-remastered recording of Joy Division playing ULU in 1980 and decided that, if I can enjoy JD through a bit of muffle, then why not make my talk available?

Here it is on Soundcloud. A bit of an experiment. Let me know if you think this works. There is a Soundcloud app for smartphones, so you can listen on the move if that’s your thing – or you can download it to your iPod.

I’m hoping this will appeal to anyone who is interested in both public services/policy and also behavioural insights. The final few minutes consists of me being pretty optimistic: I reckon that making the use of insights from behavioural sciences mainstream – and being open about it – can help create better designed services, a more effective relationship between citizen and state, and also, in the longer-term, a more mindful society.

3 thoughts on “Audio: Can Public Policy Cope with Behavioural Sciences?

  1. Pingback: Will we do politics better if we understand behaviour? | The Ripple Effect

  2. Pingback: FutureGov | Behavioural Effects, Demand Management and Local Government: An Interview with Warren Hatter

What do you think?

