A guide to using behavioural insights in local government

I wrote this for Sunderland City Council, following some work using behavioural insights in a range of projects. Although written for an internal audience, they’re happy to share it. I really enjoyed working there, especially all the co-production with wonderful front-line staff; I got a lot out of it and I hope that by sharing these insights, you will too – if you work on local public services and are interested in how behavioural insights (BI) can help.

There’s not much in here on demand management (which is the theme for most of my BI work in local government), since all the projects it was based on were for the Health & Wellbeing Board. But there is a section on how demand management (DM) work differs. I guess the next thing I need to write should cover DM in more detail and include the dozens of non-Sunderland examples I have.

You can download a copy here: A guide to using behavioural insights in Sunderland or from the Sunderland Partnership here.

One thought on “A guide to using behavioural insights in local government

  1. Pingback: new guide to using Behavioural Insights

What do you think?